2019 National Veterans Day Official Sites of Observance

Find an official observance site in your community


shadow

Each year, communities across the country submit applications to be recognized as official Veterans Day observance sites. The Veterans Day National Committee recognizes select Veterans Day observances that represent fitting tributes to America’s heroes to serve as models for other communities to follow in planning their own observances. More information can be found at: https://www.va.gov/opa/vetsday/

Contact the individuals or communities below to learn details of the observance event. Please submit additional details of observances in the comments below.

Alabama
Birmingham
Mark Ryan
P.O. Box 642
Birmingham, AL 35201
Phone: 205-942-5300
Email: mark@nationalveteransday.org

Mobile
Wayne E. Sirmon
Mobile Area Chamber of Commerce
P.O. Box 2187
Mobile, AL 36652-2187
Phone: 251-591-3417
Email: wayne@sirmon.us

Alaska
Joint Base Elmendorf-Richardson
State of Alaska Office of Veterans Affairs
Verdie Bowen
4600 Debarr Rd., Suite 180
Anchorage, AK 99508
Phone: 907-334-0870
Email: verdie.bowen@alaska.gov

Arizona
Honoring Arizona’s Veterans
Phoenix Veteran’s Day Parade
Paula Pedene
6501 East Greenway Parkway #103-235
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
Phone: 480-772-2934
Email:paula@pedene.com

California
City of Atwater
Margarita Saavedra
750 Bellevue Road
Atwater, CA 95301
Phone: 209-357-6370
Email: ms@atwater.org

City of Palm Springs
Ms. Michele Cirone-Collier / Jasmine Sullivan-Waite
401 S. Pavilion Way
Palm Springs, CA 92262
Phone:(760) 323-8276
Email: michele.cirone-collier@palmspringsca.gov
Jasmine.waits@palmsprings-ca.gov

Merced Field of Honor
Eric Moore
P.O. Box 3262
Merced, CA 95340
Phone: 415-430-7495
Email: mercedsunrisesecretary@gmail.com

Colorado
Loveland
Ed Aitken
5000 Norwood Ave.
Loveland, CO 80538
Phone: 970-217-6671
Email: ed@lpbroadband.net

Florida
Ponce Inlet, Volusia
Bob McLaughlin
4650 Links Village Dr., B 302
Ponce Inlet, FL 32127
Phone: 386-295-7007
Email: bobmac417@gmail.com

Veterans Memorial Park & LeRoy Collins, Jr. Veterans Museum
Marti Ryan
Veterans Resource Center (Building 3610)
3602 US Highway 301
North Tampa, FL 33619
Phone: 813-356-9711
Email: RyanM@HCFLGOV.net

Georgia
Atlanta
Kevin L. Miller
1875 Withmere Way
Dunwoody, GA 30338
Phone: 404-518-0911
Email: kmiller@georgiaveteransday.org

Dawson County
Tim Costley
P.O. Box 1313
Dawsonville, GA 30534
Phone: 770-718-6358
Email: tcostley@windstream.net

Illinois

Churchville Middle School
Peter Richey
155 Victory Parkway
Elmhurst, IL 60126
Phone: 630-832-8682
Email: prichey@elmhurst205.org

Indiana
Oak Hill Cemetery and Arboretum – City of Evansville
Chris Cooke
1400 East Virginia Street
Evansville, IN 47711
Phone: 812-435-6225
Email: ccooke@evansville.in.gov

Kansas
Leavenworth County
Diana Smith
2115 Ottawa Street, Apt 103C
Leavenworth, KS 66048
Phone: 913-651-0410
Email: dsmith8325@kc.rr.com

Louisiana
New Orleans
Rev. Isaac Gilliard, Jr.
103 Norland Ave.
New Orleans, LA 70131
Phone: 504-450-8851
Email: igilliard@aol.com

Shreveport/Bossier City
Theresa Neff
122 Adger Street
Shreveport, LA 71105
Phone: 318-564-2765
Email: veteransdaybikerevent@yahoo.com

Maryland
City of Annapolis
Penny Collins
100 Compromise Street
Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone: 667-803-0838
Email: frabranch24@gmail.com

City of Brunswick
Mr. Shuan Butcher
1 West Potomac Street
Brunswick, MD 21716
Phone: 240-334-4757
Email: brunswickparade@gmail.com

Massachusetts
Oak Bluffs Veterans Day Parade
Peter Herrmann
P.O. Box 1437
Vineyard Haven, MA 02568
Phone: 774-563-0293
Email: vetsagent@dukescounty.org

Michigan
Detroit
Dick Chatman
20209 Briarcliff Road
Detroit, MI 48221
Phone: 313-861-6852
Email: dickc1948@ameritech.net

Minnesota
Inver Grove Heights Veterans Memorial Community Center
Beth Barstow
20 W. 12th Street
St. Paul, MN 55155
Phone: 651-757-1550
Email: beth.barstow@state.mn.us

Mississippi
City of D’Iberville
Mary Ellen Landry
13 Wheaton Cove
Gulfport, MS 39503
Phone: 228-697-4004
Email: mlandry@ethosstaffing.com

Missouri
City of St. Robert
Cecilia Murray
137 St. Robert Blvd., Ste B.
St. Robert, MO 65584
Phone: 573-336-5121
Email: chamberdirector@wsrchamber.com

St. Louis Veterans Day Observance
Kathy Bass
City Hall Room 416
1200 Market
St. Louis, MO 63103
Phone: 314-589-6613
Email: bessk@stlouis-mo.gov

New Jersey
Phillipsburg, Lopatcong Township
William Nixon
626 Youngs Rd.
Phillipsburg, NJ 08865
Phone: 908-454-4958
Email: bcnixon1@verizon.net

North Carolina
2019 Warsaw Veteran’s Day Parade and Celebration
Carolyn Quinn
P.O. Box 585
Warsaw, NC 28398
Phone: 910-293-7804
Email: warsawchamber@townofwarsawnc.com

Columbus, Polk County
David Michael Collins
235 Cynthia Lane
Campobello, SC 29322
Phone: 864-457-3115
Email: mc3115@aol.com

Jacksonville
Joseph Fore
P.O. Box 306
Jacksonville, NC 28541
Phone: 910-545-0260
Email: president@rollingthundernc5.com

Ohio
Columbus
Central Ohio Veterans Day Parade (Downtown Columbus)
Carrie Killingsworth
P.O. Box 311
Worthington, OH 43085
Phone: 614-668-9947
Email: ohiomilvets@gmail.com
Website: https://milvetsohio.org

Oklahoma
Norman, Oklahoma in Cleveland County
Roger Gallagher
2513 Woodsong Drive
Norman, OK 73071
Phone: 405-329-4395
Email: rgatpok@sbcglobal.net

Ponca City
Gary Miles
P.O. Box 1836
Ponca City, OK 74602
Phone: 580-382-1050
Email: pistonring1@hotmail.com

Town of Langston City
Dr. Alberta G. J. Mayberry
P.O. Box 797
Langston, OK 73050
Phone: 405-203-7693
Email: agjm58@yahoo.com

Oregon
Albany
Patty Louisiana
P.O. Box 3241
Albany, OR 97321
Phone: 541-981-2390
Email: albanyveteransdayparade@gmail.com

Douglas County, Roseburg
Roxana Grant
DCVF P.O. Box 1124
Roseburg, OR 97470
Phone: 541-672-6470
Email: 2016srfworks@gmail.com

Portland
Lucas W. Boncore
4733 NE Thompson Street
Portland, OR 97213
Phone: 503-281-1800
Email: lucas.boncore@sci-us.com

South Carolina
City of North Charleston
Cindy Dambaugh
P.O. Box 190016
North Charleston, SC 29419
Phone: 843-740-5801
Email: cdambaugh@northcharleston.org

Tennessee
Gatlinburg
Cheryl Wilkins
P.O. Box 527
Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone: 865-436-0505
Email: cheryl@gatlinburg.com

Nashville
Anthony Westbrooks
312 Jacksonian Drive
Hermitage, TN 37076
Phone: 615-504-6044
Email: westbrooks05@comcast.net

Texas
Austin Veterans Day Parade and Ceremony
Jim Darwin
P.O. Box 30016
Austin, TX 78703
Phone: 512-653-5120
Email: jnd2usmc@gmail.com

Killeen, Harker Heights, Copperas Cove
Lori Spencer
302 Millers Crossing, Suite 4
Harker Heights, Texas 76548
Phone: 254-953-7100
Email: lori.spencer@va.gov

Tarrant County
Ken Cox
P.O. Box 820451
Fort Worth, TX 76182
Phone: 817-400-8143
Email: tcvc@tcvc.us

Virginia
City of Virginia Beach
Barbara Morrison
Communications Office
2401 Courthouse Dr. #225
Virginia Beach, VA 23456
Phone: 757-385-4075
Email: bmorriso@vbgov.com

Washington
Auburn
Kristy Pachciarz
910 Ninth Street SE
Auburn, WA 98002
Phone: 253-931-3043
Email: kpachciarz@auburnwa.gov

Port Angeles
LT Jacob Brantley
1 Ediz Hook Rd.,
Port Angeles, WA 98362
Phone: 360-417-5840
Email: jacob.w.brantley@uscg.mil

City of Vancouver
Sarah Hannon
O.O. Howard House
750 Anderson Street
Vancouver, WA 98661
Phone: 360-992-1804
Email: sarah.hannon@thehistorictrust.org

West Richland
May Hays
6095 West Van Giesen
West Richland, WA 99353
Phone: 509-967-0521
Email: wrcc@westrichlandchamber.org

Washington D.C.
Veterans Day at the National World War II Memorial
James Fisher
921 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Suite 316
Washington, DC 20003
Phone: 703-740-7596
Email: jrfisher1121@verizon.net

West Virginia
Martinsburg VA Medical Center
Sarah Tolstyka
510 Butler Ave.
Martinsburg, WV 25405
Phone: 304-263-0811
Email: sarah.tolstyka@va.gov

Author

Tim Hudak

  joined the VA in December 2013 and is on the Veterans Experience Office team. Tim, a Chicago-land native enlisted in the Marine Corps straight out of high school. As an intelligence analyst he deployed to Al Anbar province, Iraq with Marine Heavy Helicopter Squadron 363 in 2006 and 2008. After the Marine Corps, Tim used the GI Bill to earn a degree in Intelligence Studies from Mercyhurst University in Erie, Pa., and co-founded the university’s first student Veteran organization. Tim is active in many Veteran organizations.

Comments

  1. Desley Washington    

    3rd Annual Women Veterans Day Celebration
    Saturday, November 16, 2019
    9 am to 12noon
    Renaissance Hotel, 7000 Bluebonnet Blvd. Baton Rouge, LA
    Free Continental Breakfast

    Dynamic Guest Speakers
, door prizes and gifts
    womenveteransassociation@gmail.com

  2. Emelda Lafoy    

    Nice read, I just passed this onto a friend who was doing some research on that. And he just bought me lunch as I found it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Solve : *
3 × 30 =